PenLight Board Members Reelected

2018 election results banner

Peninsula Light Co. has nine directors on its board. Each year, 3 seats are up for election. This year, incumbents Paul Alvestad, Nick Markovich and Debra Ross ran for re-election. Candidates selected by the Nominating Committee to run against incumbents were Glen Bertini, Dan Merkle and Lee Smith. Any qualified candidate can apply for consideration by the Nominating Committee by submitting an application. Advertisements for accepting applications run in the December issues of the Gateway and “Lights.” Candidates must live in our service territory and meet other qualifying criteria.

Out of 31,431 ballots that were mailed for the 2018 Annual Board Election, 5,547 total ballots were returned, yielding a participation rate of 17.65 percent. The 12 percent quorum of 3,772 ballots was therefore met, validating Peninsula Light Company’s 2018 board election.

Paul Alvestad, Debra Ross and Nick Markovich have been reelected to Penlight’s Board of Directors for three-year terms.

We convened our annual meeting at PenLight headquarters at 6:30p.m., on Monday, May 7, 2018. Minutes from the previous year were approved, a State of the Utility presentation was given by CEO, Jafar Taghavi, and the Treasurer’s Report was presented.

At the board meeting following the annual meeting, the following officers were elected to serve for the 2018-19 term: Signo Uddenberg, president; Paul Alvestad, vice president; Spence Nordfors, treasurer; and Scott Junge, secretary.

Candidate Votes
Paul Alvestad 3,689
Debra Ross 3,373
Nick Markovich 2,909
Glen Bertini 2,462
Dan Merkle 1,696
Lee Smith 1,289
Write-in  53