PenLight Board Members Reelected

2019 Election Results. Peninsula Light Co. The power to be…

Peninsula Light Company has 9 directors on its Board. Each year, three seats are up for election. This year, incumbents Signo Uddenberg and Spence Nordfors ran for reelection.

Candidates selected by the Election Committee to run aside the incumbents were Jud Morris, Mackenzie Pinch, James Smalley and Rand Wilhelmsen.

Any qualified candidate can apply for consideration by the Election Committee by submitting an application. Advertisements for accepting applications run in the “Lights” and on our website. Candidates must live in PenLight’s service territory and meet other qualifying criteria.

PenLight convened its annual meeting at the company headquarters at 5:30P.M. Monday, May 6. Minutes from the previous year were approved, CEO, Jafar Taghavi gave a State of the Utility presentation, the Treasurer’s Report was presented and a Q&A session occurred. The meeting concluded by bidding farewell to board member Jeff Bucholz, who served for 24 years.

Out of 31,756 ballots mailed for the annual board election, 4,660 total were returned, yielding a participation rate of 14.67%. The 12% quorum of 3,811 ballots was therefore met, validating the 2019 PenLight board of directors election.

Signo Uddenberg, Spence Nordfors and James Smalley have been elected to PenLight’s Board of Directors for three-year terms.

At the board meeting following the annual meeting, the following officers were appointed to serve for the 2019-2020 term: President, Paul Alvestad; Vice President, Scott Junge; Treasurer, Spence Nordfors; and, Secretary, Debra Ross.

Candidate Votes
Signo Uddenberg 3,425
Spence Nordfors 3,296
James Smalley 1,920
Rand Wilhelmsen 1,615
Jud Morris 1,252
Mackenzie Pinch 1,245
Write-in 59