2021 Annual Meeting: Incumbents Reelected

Peninsula Light Company's has 9 directors on its board. Each year, 3 seats are up for election.

This year, incumbents Paul Alvestad, Nick Markovich, and Debra Ross ran for reelection. Candidates selected by the Election Committee to run against incumbents were Ken Malich and Michael Cobey.

Any qualified candidate can apply for consideration by the Election Committee by submitting an application. Advertisements for application submissions run in Lights and on PenLight’s website. Candidates must live in PenLight’s service territory and meet other qualifying criteria.

PenLight convened its annual meeting via call-in audio conference at 5:30 pm, May 3, 2021. Minutes from the previous year were approved, CEO Jafar Taghavi provided a company update, and the treasurer’s report was presented.

Of 32,268 ballots mailed out for the 2021 annual board election, 4,432 were returned, yielding a participation rate of 13.73%. That achieved the 12% quorum of 3,872 ballots required, validating Peninsula Light Co.’s 2021 board election.

The ballots were tallied as follows: Paul Alvestad-3,224; Debra Ross-3,202; Nick Markovich-2,700; Ken Malich-1,707; Michael Coby-1,207; and write-in-62.

Therefore, Alvestad, Ross, and Markovich have been reelected to PenLight’s Board of Directors for three-year terms.

At the board meeting following the annual meeting, the following officers were named for the 2021 to 2022 term: Paul Alvestad, president; Scott Junge, vice president; Spence Nordfors, treasurer; and Debra Ross, secretary.

PenLight is a member-owned electric cooperative in Gig Harbor. Since 1925, the utility has served the Gig Harbor and Key peninsulas and Fox Island in western Pierce County. The utility is the second-largest cooperative in the Northwest, serving more than 32,000 meters with 986 miles of line and 112 square miles of service territory. The company also provides service to 3,200-plus water consumers.