2022 Annual Meeting Held, Election Results Annouced

Posted: June 1, 2022, 1:05 pm

Peninsula Light Co. (PenLight) has 9 directors on its board. Each year, three seats are up for election. This year, incumbents Signo Uddenberg and Jim Smalley ran for reelection. Candidates selected by the Election Committee to run against incumbents were Erin Gatherum, Sally Glover, Reid Ekberg and Christopher Myers. (Any qualified candidate can apply for consideration by the Election Committee by submitting an application. Advertisements for accepting applications run in the “Lights” and on our website. Candidates must live in PenLight’s service territory and meet other qualifying criteria.)

PenLight convened its Annual Meeting via call-in audio conference at 5:30 p.m. on Monday, May 2, 2022. Minutes from the previous year were approved, a company update was reported by CEO Jafar Taghavi, and the treasurer’s report was presented.

Out of 32,546 ballots that were mailed for the 2022 Annual Board Election, 4,362 total ballots were returned, yielding a participation rate of 13.4%. The 12% quorum of 3,905 ballots was therefore met, validating Peninsula Light Company’s 2022 Board Election.

The ballots were tallied as follows: Signo Uddenberg, 2,732; Jim Smalley, 2,520; Erin Gatherum, 1,933; Sally Glover, 1,796; Reid Ekberg,1,483; Christopher Myers, 1,276; Write-in, 41. Therefore, Signo Uddenberg, Jim Smalley and Erin Gatherum have been elected to PenLight’s Board of Directors for a term of 3 years.

At the board meeting following the Annual Meeting, the following officers would serve for the 2022 to 2023 term: Scott Junge (president); Debra Ross (vice president); Marc Jorgenson (treasurer); and Jim Smalley (secretary).